August 6, 2019

2021 Annual Meeting

Registration is now Closed

Make plans to join the 2021 NC Go Annual Directors’ Meeting and Dinner – to hear about what’s next in transportation! Our speakers will include Sen.Vickie Sawyer (R-Iredell, Yadkin) and Beau Memory, NCDOT Chief Operating Officer.

  • What: NC Go Annual Meeting and Dinner
  • When: October 14, 2021
    • Board of Directors meeting: 3:30pm-5pm (Any dues-paying members are welcome to attend)
    • Reception and Dinner: 5:30pm-7:30pm
  • Where: NCSU Dorothy & Roy Park Alumni Center – 2450 Alumni Drive Raleigh, NC 27606
  • Who:  Senator Vickie Sawyer, Beau Memory and NC Go Chair Marc Finlayson

Our Speakers

Senator Vickie Sawyer (R- Iredell, Yadkin)

Senator Sawyer represents the Senate’s 34th district which includes Iredell and Yadkin Counties. She was appointed to serve in the Senate for District 44 in 2018 and was re-elected in 2019. 

Senator Sawyer currently serves as Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee and as Co-Chair of the Senate Transportation Appropriations Committee. She also serves on the Senate Finance, Commerce & Insurance, Education, and Budget Committees.  

Senator Sawyer is a licensed Insurance agent in North Carolina. Since 2002, she and her husband have owned and operated Sawyer Insurance & Financial Services, based in Mooresville, NC with two locations serving the Lake Norman Area.

Beau Memory, Chief Operating Officer, NCDOT

As the chief operating officer, Beau Memory oversees the Division of Highways, Ferry Division, Aviation Division, Rail Division, the Integrated Mobility Division (Bicycle and Pedestrian Division, Public Transportation Division), Division of Planning & Programming, and Office of Communications, Community Outreach and Public Engagement.

Memory has spent his career working in transportation and has served in leadership roles in the public and private sectors. In his previous role, Memory served as National Transportation director at SAS Institute, supporting transportation agencies as they leverage available data for evidence-based decision making, operational efficiencies and cost savings. 

Before joining SAS, Memory served as the executive director of the N.C. Turnpike Authority from 2015 to 2019. During those years with the Turnpike Authority, he oversaw the construction, completion and successful opening of the Monroe Bypass and was twice awarded the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association’s President’s Award, the highest recognition in the tolling industry. 

Memory previously served as Government Relations director for NCDOT and was recognized by the North Carolina Center for Public Policy as one of the most influential voices at the state capital. As the senior policy advisor on transportation to the North Carolina Senate, he played a lead role in the development of the state’s Strategic Transportation Investments law, which establishes a process by which all projects are considered and approved openly in a transparent, data-driven and depoliticized manner.

A native of Whiteville, Memory graduated from UNC Charlotte with a degree in Political Science and Government.